10 Comments
Apr 28, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

1. Naperville 2. Oak Park 3. Madison WI

Expand full comment
Apr 29, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

I live near Lisle and Naperville markets but they don't offer organic produce. I go to Wheaton and they have an organic farmer and I love Oak Park, Wicker Park and Green City Markets. Most memorable is the Amherst Market in Amherst, Massachusetts and DuPoint Circle Market in Washington DC. Also, Logan Square has a nice market.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, Lisa. DuPont Circle was my local market when I lived in DC (I worked in the neighborhood for 29 years).

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Oak Park is my local. Most memorable was in the coal fields of Eastern Kentucky where the former miners were selling produce from their "gardens" (no one called them farms) and the bluegrass and old time music was incredible.

Expand full comment
author

That must have been an amazing experience, Chuck. I'm probably not going to get to the Oak Park Market often (one of the few downsides to going car-less), so I hope you'll share some photos.

Expand full comment

1. Lincoln Square 2. Logan Square, Evanston 3 -

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 28, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

1. Between South Chicago (Urban Growers Collective Farm) & Whiting, Indiana.

2. Division St is one of my fav markets next to Daley Plaza.3

3. Markets (Mercados) in Zacatecas, Mexico my home state. I just enjoy the food that normally I would not find back in Chicago.

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

95 th street , not as big as most but getting better each year , Oak Lawn and Andersonville are fun destinations

Expand full comment
founding

Downtown Evanston FM / Glenwood Sunday Market / Sadly, no. To me, getting to Arlington Heights to shop at Mitsuwa is like a voyage to the other side of the world.

Expand full comment
author

My answers:

1) Green City Market Lincoln Park

2) I often visited Daley Plaza when I worked in River North (i.e. until last month). I visited Logan Square quite often when we had a car. Now that visiting farmers markets is central ot Local Food Forum, I'll be all over town.

3) Dane County Farmers Market in Madison, Wisconsin. I'd heard about this farmers market ringing the state capitol for years. Checked that off my bucket list a few years ago.

Expand full comment