28 Comments
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

ANY kind of berries!! Fresh tomatoes all colors and sizes

Expand full comment
author

Definitely aboard with you berry people, though I have to admit I'm pawing the ground waiting for the first local asparagus. Not only do I love it, but it's symbolically the official start of spring. :)

Expand full comment
Apr 15, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Berries and corn! Berries and corn! I’ll take em straight, but sweet corn ice cream is also a seasonal favorite.

Expand full comment
Apr 15, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Vanilla malts. Malt is a grain therefore a vegetable right? Also such a great summer drink and you can walk off the calories. Oh — and vanilla is a plant I think! If wrong on my facts I still want this item available. Thank you for not using my real name.

Expand full comment
author

Vanilla and malt are definitely plant-based products.

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

I'm always most excited for asparagus in the spring and blueberries in the summer. Sweet corn is fun, too.

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

I was told that the Boulder Farmer's Market in CO had beet donuts with a yuzu glaze but haven't found that vendor just yet...

Expand full comment
author

Thanks, Julie. Definitely a candidate for the most unique item in this thread. :)

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Bi-color sweet corn from Wiltse's Farm in Maple Park!

Expand full comment
author

I think for the July 4th issue I'll ask sweet corn farmers to share photos of how high the corn is. There's that old saying, "Knee high by the 4th of July." There was one fluky year (2018?) when the corn grew so fast there was some in the market by July 4; usually it's late July or early August.

Expand full comment
founding

Green garlic. All the weeds--I mean, foraged plants like nettles and lambs quarter and such. More green garlic.

Expand full comment
author

I'm getting an idea that you like green garlic. (So do I... I'm getting some tomorrow in a delivery order from Three Sisters Garden.)

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Strawberries from Earth First!

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Raspberries and peaches!

Expand full comment
author

I knew that!

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Peaches for sure!

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

I’m with Jim as to the strawberries & rhubarb, though I’m the sole rhubarb fan in our family.

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Zucchini squash. I make an incredible zucchini bread which is basically cake.

Expand full comment
author

[Note to self: Hit Matt up for zucchini bread] I use vast amounts of zucchini when in season. It is so versatile.

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Yes , I was able to winter over one plant

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

We're always thrilled when the peaches start coming in from Hardin's Family Farm in Eau Claire, MI. We get them at the Glenwood Sunday Market in Rogers Park.

Expand full comment
author

I'll see you at Glenwood!

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Swiss chard and peaches.

Expand full comment
author

Do you grow chard in your wonderful garden, Gerry?

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Bob Benenson

Strawberries and rhubarb!

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like it's pie time!

Expand full comment

Raspberries

Expand full comment

Strawberries

Expand full comment